you are here:Home page > AREV > Historique
A force of dialogue and proposal

The Regions play a crucial role in the implementation of the major principles

of partnership and subsidiarity at European level in that they represent

European citizens, not as individuals as within the European Parliament, but

as living communities.

The transferral to European power of the duties and scope of activities that

until then were under the responsibility of national authorities, in the fields

of agriculture, the environment, international trade and taxation, provided

justification for developing dialogue between Europe and the Regions.

Prior to such dialogue between the Regions and Brussels, opposing views

aimed at pulling out common interests was a necessary part of the process,

requiring the formation of a “European Parliament of Wines and Vines”.

In order to initiate a joint review of European wine policy and voice the

opinions both of regional executives and representatives of appellation

and winegrowing areas, the European Wine Regions Conference (CERV)

was created in 1988 in Bourg-sur-Gironde/Aquitaine, on the initiative of

Presidents Edgar Faure and Jacques Chaban-Delmas along with Gérard

Baloup, director of Local and Regional Authorities at the Council of Europe.

As a framework for dialogue and proposal, this combined political and

industry forum allowed, perhaps not always common views to be reached,

but at the very least enabled conflicting positions to be clarified, misunderstandings

to be resolved, and gradually paved the way for a common

denominator to emerge and become more substantial with each session.

To improve efficiency, CERV took on new statutes in 1994 in Marsala, Sicily,

and became officially known as the Assembly of European Wine Regions

(AREV), the depositary of the entire associate, organisational and moral

heritage of the former CERV.

Three founders of AREV: Edgar Faure, Jacques Chaban-Delmas and Gérard Baloup

Former CERV / AREV Presidents: Edgar Faure,

Carlo Bernini, Jordi Pujol, Jacques Blanc, Luis Braga da Cruz,

Pedro Sanz, Arlindo Cunha, Luis Durnwalder

Former CEPV Chairman: Pierre Perromat, Reinhard Muth, Claudio Rosso

Former Secretaries General: Gérard Baloup,

Georges Roucou, Jean-Pierre Van Ruyskensvelde, Manuel Cabral,

Javier Erro, Nuno Almeida, Herbert Dorfmann